Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

As Meetings Go, This One's Quick: Council Members Inaugurated Tonight

Filipa Rodrigues for KUT News

Compared to recent all-night gatherings, tonight’s meeting of the Austin City Council should set a land-speed record.

That’s because the only topic on the agenda is the inauguration of the council members – all incumbents – and the naming of the council’s Mayor Pro Tem.

Austin Mayor Lee Leffingwell, plus council members Sheryl Cole, Mike Martinez and  Bill Spelman will be inaugurated at City Hall this evening. 

It’s the second consecutive term for Leffingwell and Spelman, and the third term for Martinez and Cole. Cole is currently Mayor Pro Tem, a largely ceremonial position that involves running meetings and attending events in the mayor’s absence, and is likely to be re-elected again.

The fun starts at City Hall, 301 W. Second St., tonight at 6 p.m.

Wells has been a part of KUT News since 2012, when he was hired as the station's first online reporter. He's currently the social media host and producer for Texas Standard, KUT's flagship news program. In between those gigs, he served as online editor for KUT, covering news in Austin, Central Texas and beyond.
Related Content