Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Super Bowl 50, Walter Payton Man of The Year Award

On this edition of In Black America, producer/host John L. Hanson Jr. presents highlights of NFL commissioner Roger Goodell’s annual state-of-the-league press conference, during Super Bowl 50 week, at the Moscone Convention Center in San Francisco; the Walter Payton Man of the Year award; and John Wooten, co-founder and chairman of the Fritz Pollard Alliance Foundation.

On Sunday, February 7, 2016, the Carolina Panthers and Denver Broncos met in Super Bowl 50 at Levi’s Stadium in Santa Clara, California.

For the third consecutive season, the game featured the No. 1 seed in each conference.

Denver advanced to the Super Bowl by defeating New England 20-18. Carolina defeated Arizona 49-15 to earn its second ever trip to the Super Bowl.

The Broncos defeated the Panthers 24 to 10.

Each year, all 32 NFL teams nominate an athlete who's had a positive impact through volunteer work and service. One of them was named the Walter Payton Man of the Year and received a $55,000 donation in his name to a charity of his choice - courtesy of the NFL Foundation and Nationwide.

San Francisco 49ers wide receiver Anquan Boldin was named the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year.

The prestigious Walter Payton Man of the Year award is Boldin’s first, but Boldin has been nominated four times by three different teams during his 13 NFL seasons.