Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Abbott names former Texas secretary of state to temporarily lead the attorney general’s office

 Texas Secretary of State John B. Scott is pictured, Feb. 10, 2022, in Austin, Texas. Texas Gov. Greg Abbott on Wednesday, May 31, 2023, appointed Scott to temporarily serve as Texas' attorney general after the House of Representatives voted to impeach Ken Paxton, a Republican, over allegations of misconduct and crimes.
Texas Gov. Greg Abbott has appointed former Secretary of State John Scott to temporarily serve as attorney general after the House of Representatives voted to impeach Ken Paxton over allegations of misconduct and crimes.

Texas’ former secretary of state will be at the helm of the state’s attorney general’s office following the temporary ouster last week of Republican Ken Paxton.

Gov. Greg Abbott on Wednesday appointed John Scott to temporarily lead the office following Paxton’s impeachment Saturday by the Texas House of representatives.

In a statement Abbott praised Scott’s experience and noted he served as deputy attorney general for civil litigation when Abbott was attorney general prior to being elected governor.

“His decades of experience and expertise in litigation will help guide him while serving as the state’s top law enforcement officer,” Abbott said in a statement.

Scott is a Fort Worth native with more than three decades of legal practice under his belt, Abbott added. That includes litigating more than 100 lawsuits and arguing before the U.S. and state supreme courts and several federal appellate courts, Abbott added.

His appointment comes after Paxton, who was first elected in 2014, was temporarily removed from office after Texas House leadership presented to its members 20 articles of impeachment alleging Paxton abused his office and committed bribery, among other allegations. The Texas Senate will convene for a trial this summer that will decide whether to permanently remove Paxton.

Scott’s stint as Texas Secretary of State lasted about a year, beginning in October 2021 and ending with his resignation in December 2022. He was replaced in that capacity by Flower Mound Republican Jane Nelson.

KERA News is made possible through the generosity of our members. If you find this reporting valuable, consider making a tax-deductible gift today. Thank you.

Got a tip? Email Julián Aguilar at can follow Julián on Twitter @nachoaguilar.
Copyright 2023 KERA. To see more, visit KERA.

Julián Aguilar
Related Content