Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

AISD Releases List of Schools Frozen to Transfers

Nathan Bernier, KUT News

The Austin Independent School District has releasedits list of schools that are frozen to transfers for the 2013-2014 school year.

Over two dozen campuses are  frozen to transfers, while another 17 will be reevaluated after requests for priority transfers are approved.

Beginning Jan. 7, parents will be able to submit their transfer requests by mail or in person at AISD's Office of Student Services.

There are two types of transfers: priority and non-priority. Transfers are considered priority if the transfer is requested so that siblings can attend the same school, for tracking purposes, or if the student is requesting to transfer from a school where they’re a member of an ethnic group that makes up more than half of the school’s population to a school where their ethnic group makes up less than half of the school’s population.

The deadline for priority transfers is Jan. 31. Transfer requests made afterward will automatically be classified as non-priority. The deadline for non-priority transfers for the fall is Aug. 12.

Students who want to participate in a program that has its own specific application process, such as a magnet or dual language program, must apply to those programs directly.

Here's a full list of the frozen schools:

High Schools:

Akins Anderson Austin Bowie McCallum

Middle Schools:

Kealing Murchison O.Henry Paredes Small

Elementary Schools:

Baldwin Baranoff Blazier Bryker Woods (grades 1 & 5) Casis Cook Doss Graham Hart Highland Park Hill Kiker Langford Lee Odom Palm Patton Pickle Pillow Rodriguez Wooldridge

Related Content