Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Texas Elected Officials Who Didn't File For Re-election

Dropouts guarantee new faces at the Capitol in 2013
Lizzie Chen, for KUT News
Dropouts guarantee new faces at the Capitol in 2013

With the filing deadline passed and the electoral maps finalized at last, we've updated the 2012 quit list.

Thirty-one members — that’s about 20 percent — of the Texas House have said they won't seek re-election. That includes seven Democrats and 24 Republicans. Looked at another way, it includes 17 members who are leaving to run for other offices including district attorney, state Senate, Congress and the Railroad Commission. Thirteen of the members are leaving with no announced plans for public office. 

The House list so far: Jose Aliseda, R-Beeville; Rodney Anderson, R-Grand Prairie; Barbara Mallory Caraway, D-Dallas; Erwin Cain, R-Como;  Joaquin Castro, D-San Antonio; Warren Chisum, R-Pampa; Joe Driver, R-Garland; Pete Gallego, D-Alpine; Veronica Gonzales, D-McAllen; Kelly Hancock, R-North Richland Hills; Rick Hardcastle, R-Vernon; Will Hartnett, R-Dallas; Scott Hochberg, D-Houston; Charlie Howard, R-Sugar Land; Jim Jackson, R-Dallas; Ken Legler, R-Pasadena; Lanham Lyne, R-Wichita Falls; Jerry Madden, R-Richardson; Geanie Morrison, R-Victoria; Ken Paxton, R-McKinney; Aaron Peña, R-Edinburg; Chente Quintanilla, D-Tornillo; Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown; Todd Smith, R-Bedford;  Mark Shelton, R-Fort Worth; Burt Solomons, R-Carrollton; Larry Taylor, R-Friendswood; Raul Torres, R-Corpus Christi; Marc Veasey, D-Fort Worth; Randy Weber, R-Pearland; and Beverly Woolley, R-Houston.

Four state senators are leaving: Chris Harris, R-Arlington; Mike Jackson, R-La Porte; Steve Ogden, R-Bryan; and Florence Shapiro, R-Plano. Jackson, who's running for Congress, is the only one in that group seeking another office right now. 

Three members of the State Board of Education won't be running: Mary Helen Berlanga, D-Corpus Christi; Bob Craig, R-Lubbock; and Marsha Farney, R-Georgetown. Farney is running for an open House seat.

And two members of the congressional delegation are leaving: Charlie Gonzalez, D-San Antonio; and Ron Paul, R-Surfside. Gonzalez is done; Paul is running for president.

There will also be one more name to add to the list of incumbents not coming back to the Texas House depending on the outcome of the race between Mike "Tuffy" Hamilton, R-Mauriceville, and James White, R-Woodville, who have been paired in the same district in the new maps. Only one of them can survive. 

Morgan Smith was an editorial intern and columnist at Slate in Washington, D.C., before moving to Austin to enter law school at the University of Texas in 2008. (She has put her degree on hold to join the Tribune's staff.) A native of San Antonio, she has a bachelor's degree in English from Wellesley College.