Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2018 Election Results: Austin Community College Board Of Trustees

Julia Reihs

Three seats on the Austin Community College Board of Trustees are up for grabs this election. Trustees oversee the 11 ACC campuses, as well as the taxing district in Central Texas. The six-year trustee positions aren’t paid.

There’s also a proposition on the ballot for Pflugerville residents.

Place 7 | Place 8 | Place 9 | Prop A

Place 7

Results: Incumbant Barbara Mink won with almost 75 percent of the vote. 

Background: Here are the candidates on the ballot.   

Barbara Mink is the incumbent and the chair of the board. She has served on the Board of Trustees since 2000. She is a professor at Fielding Graduate University in Santa Barbara, Calif., and a lecturer at the University of Texas.

Mitch Fuller is a Cedar Park resident and former Cedar Park mayor pro tem and city councilman. A veteran, he says he would like to better represent veterans attending ACC.

Place 8

Results: Stephanie Gharakhanian leads with 49 percent of the vote. Sarah Mills follows with 34 percent. Douglas Gibbins has almost 17 percent. Gharakhanian and Mills will go to a runoff.

Background: Here are the candidates on the ballot.   

Douglas Gibbins is a commercial real estate broker in Austin. He currently serves as the chairman of the Highland Campus Advisory Committee.

Stephanie Gharakhanian is a first-generation American living in Austin. She’s been a lawyer for the Workers Defense Project for the last five years.

Sarah Mills is the director of government relations for the Texas Association for Home Care and Hospice. She also served in policy roles at the Texas Health and Human Services Commission and Disability Rights Texas.

Place 9

Results: Julie Ann Nitsch wins with almost 61 percent of the vote. 

Background: Here are the candidates on the ballot.   

Julie Ann Nitsch is the incumbent. 

Lora Weber is a resident and small-business owner in Round Rock. She is the chair of the Round Rock Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and vice chair of the Economic Development Advisory Council.  

Proposition A

Results: The proposition was rejected 54 percent to 46 percent. 

This proposition asks whether Pflugerville voters approve ACC annexing Pflugerville ISD into ACC boundaries. That would mean students living in the area would get in-district tuition.

Correction: A previous version of ths post incorrectly said Julie Ann Nitsch was an ACC student.

Related Content