Austin's NPR Station
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Proposed Congressional Map Angers Democrats

Image courtesy Office of Rep. Lloyd Doggett
A proposed map of Travis County's congressional seats following redistricting.

A proposed map of new Congressional districts in Texas has one incumbent representative steaming mad.

U.S. Rep. Lloyd Doggett (D-Austin) issued a statement about the map earlier today, claiming it effectively splits Travis County up into four Congressional districts.

Armed with a computer and a knife, they have sliced up Travis County into four districts, including a new one that has separate fingers extending over 150 miles each, in different directions, to combine parts of South and Central Austin, which I currently represent, with dissimilar communities like Weatherford, Gatesville, and Junction.  Their map of Travis County looks like a whirlpool, designed to drown out a voice for our community values in Congress.

The map released by Congressman Doggett's office (above) shows his District 25 covering most of East Austin as it moves east of I-35 toward San Antonio. 

District 10, held by Rep. Michael McCaul (R-Austin) would include a bit of western Travis County, as well as parts of North Austin, as it stretches southeast toward Houston. 

Rep. Lamar Smith's (R-San Antonio) District 21 would take in parts of southwest Travis County as it moves toward San Antonio. 

A new seat, District 34, includes an island in West Austin before it picks up Lakeway and parts of western Travis County before stretching west to Kimble County and north toward the Dallas-Fort Worth Metroplex.

Related Content