Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Travis County: 2022 Primary Elections Results

People line up for early voting outside the Gardner Betts Annex on Feb. 25, 2022.
Sheryl Wong for KUT
People line up for early voting in the primary elections outside the Gardner Betts Annex in South Austin on Friday.

Lee esta historia en español.

Two challenges to take over seats on the Travis County Commissioners Court fizzled as incumbents won out on election night.

Del Valle ISD Trustee Susanna Ledesma-Woody led longtime Precinct 4 Commissioner Margaret Gómez after early voting and two rounds of Election Day results came in.

After 10 p.m., just 42 votes separated the two, with Ledesma-Woody in the lead. Then Gómez secured her seat after two favorable rounds of returns, beating Ledesma-Woody by just 219 votes, according to the county clerk's unofficial election night count. Gómez has held the seat on the Travis County Commissioners Court since 1995.

Ledesma-Woody said Wednesday morning she's asking for a recount. State law allows for recounts if an applicant's differential is within 10% of the winner's overall total. Ledesma-Woody lost by 219 votes, which is 2% of the Gómez's overall total 10,948 votes.

Incumbent Precinct 2 Commissioner Brigid Shea also fended off a challenge from progressive activist Bob Libal, who formerly headed up the nonprofit Grassroots Leadership. Shea led Libal comfortably all night after the early voting totals came in, beating him by more than 15,000 votes, according to the county clerk's final count.

There's no Republican challenger in either race, so both Gómez and Shea will retain their seats on the Commissioners Court.

In a text to KUT on Wednesday, Libal said he was "deeply proud" of his campaign and that he looked forward to working with Shea on reforms to Travis County's criminal justice system. Libal strongly opposed Travis County's plan to build a new women's jail — a plan Shea has supported since it was first recommended to county leaders in 2016.

"I want to congratulate Commissioner Shea on a well-run campaign. We spoke last night and agreed to work together on transformational criminal justice reform in Travis County," he said. "I told Commissioner Shea she has my full support in continuing to build boldly progressive climate change policy in Travis County."

Dyana Limon-Mercado, the head of Planned Parenthood’s political arm in Texas, easily beat out Kurt Lockhart for the Democratic nominee to succeed Dana DeBeauvoir, who retired as county clerk earlier this year. Limon-Mercado garnered 78,633 votes to Lockhart's 16,331. She will face Republican Susan Haynes in November.

Much of the ballot was already set before Election Day.

All told, 19 candidates for county offices ran unopposed in the primaries — including races for county judge, treasurer and district clerk.

Republicans fielded just three candidates for countywide offices, including Rupal Chaudhari for Travis County judge. Chaudhari, who’s been a vocal opponent of Austin’s decision to buy the Candlewood Suites for people transitioning out of homelessness, will face incumbent Andy Brown in the general election.

Democrat Dolores Ortega Carter was the only candidate running for county treasurer, a position she's held since 1987. Longtime Travis County District Clerk Velva Price, also a Democrat, ran unopposed as well.

Republican Cleve Doty was the only GOP candidate for any of Travis County’s judicial seats. He’ll face Democrat Laurie Eiserloh in the race for the 455th District Court seat.

For a full rundown of county races, see the results below. Winners are bolded. If a candidate doesn’t get at least 50% of the vote, the top two finishers will go to a runoff. Candidates can also request a recount in certain circumstances.

The races below were updated Wednesday at 12:37 a.m.

* Indicates incumbent

District criminal courts

District Judge, 147th Judicial District

Democrats: Cliff Brown*
Republicans: None

District Judge, 299th Judicial District

Democrats: Karen R. Sage*
Republicans: None

District Judge, 331st Judicial District

Democrats: Chantal Melissa Eldridge* (59.76%), Jessica Huynh (40.24%)
Republicans: None

District Judge, 403rd Judicial District

Democrats: Brandy Mueller (82.10%), Craig Moore (17.90%)
Republicans: None

Civil district court

District Judge, 201st Judicial District

Democrats: Amy Clark Meachum*
Republicans: None

District Judge, 250th Judicial District

Democrats: Karin Crump*
Republicans: None

District Judge, 261st Judicial District

Democrats: Pam Davis (41.36%), Daniella DeSeta Lyttle (58.64%)
Republicans: None

District Judge, 419th Judicial District

Democrats: Madeleine Connor (26.40%), Catherine A. Mauzy* (73.60%)
Republicans: None

District Judge, 455th Judicial District

Democrats: Laurie Eiserloh (86.28%), Eugene Clayborn (13.72%)
Republicans: Cleve W. Doty*

District Judge, 459th Judicial District

Democrats: Maya Guerra Gamble*
Republicans: None

County judge

Democrats: Andy Brown*
Republicans: Rupal Chaudhari

Civil county courts at law

Judge, No. 1

Democrats: Todd T. Wong*
Republicans: None

Judge, No. 2

Democrats: Eric M. Shepperd*
Republicans: None

Criminal county courts at law

Judge, No. 3

Democrats: Bianca Garcia
Republicans: None

Judge, No. 4

Democrats: Dimple Malhotra* (61.94%), Jana Ortega (38.06%)
Republicans: None

Judge, No. 5

Democrats: Tanisa Jeffers (39.92%), Mary Ann Espiritu (60.08%)
Republicans: None

Judge, No. 6

Democrats: Leslie Jane Boykin (29.16%), Denise Hernàndez (70.84%)
Republicans: None

Judge, No. 7

Democrats: Elisabeth Earle*
Republicans: None

Probate court judge

Democrats: Guy Herman*
Republicans: None

District clerk

Democrats: Velva L. Price*
Republicans: None

County clerk

Democrats: Dyana Limon-Mercado* (82.80%), Kurt Lockhart (17.20%)
Republicans: Susan Haynes

County treasurer

Democrats: Dolores Ortega Carter*
Republicans: None

Travis County commissioners

Precinct 2

Democrats: Brigid Shea* (76.09%), Bob Libal (23.91%)
Republicans: None

Precinct 4

Democrats: Margaret J. Gómez* (50.51%), Susanna Ledesma-Woody (49.49%)
Republicans: None

Justices of the peace

Precinct 1

Democrats: Yvonne Michelle Williams* (78.17%), Andrew R. Hairston (21.83%)
Republicans: None

Precinct 2

Democrats: Randall Slagle*
Republicans: None

Precinct 3

Democrats: Sylvia Holmes*
Republicans: None

Precinct 4

Democrats: Raúl Arturo González*
Republicans: None

Precinct 5

Democrats: Nick Chu* (80.81%), Cassie R. Malone (19.19%)
Republicans: None

Andrew Weber is a general assignment reporter for KUT, focusing on criminal justice, policing, courts and homelessness in Austin and Travis County. Got a tip? You can email him at Follow him on Twitter @England_Weber.