Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

'Texas Standard' Wins Three National Headliner Awards

Miguel Gutierrez Jr.
"Texas Standard" host David Brown and producer Laura Rice atop the University of Texas tower.

AUSTIN, Texas – April 17, 2017 – “Texas Standard,” the national daily news show of Texas, has won three National Headliner Awards, including Best in Show and first place for the documentary “Out of the Blue: 50 Years After the UT Tower Shooting.”

The “Texas Standard” Nov. 9, 2016 newscast, the day after the presidential election, won a second place award in the radio newscast category, while coverage of the July 2016 Dallas police shooting won third place in the breaking news category.

The hour-long radio documentary, “Out of the Blue: 50 Years After the UT Tower Shooting” featured stories from survivors of the University of Texas Tower shooting on Aug. 1, 1966. Many of the eyewitness had not shared their stories publicly before the broadcast.

“Texas Standard” collected nearly 100 exclusive, first-person accounts of the shootings to paint a much broader picture of the events that took place 50 years ago and show how people were affected by the shooting in unexpected ways.

The title, “Out of the Blue,” refers to the blue sky on Aug. 1, 1966 from whence the shots came down on campus, and to the fact that no one had expected or heard of a school shooting such as this before.

These bring to five the number of National Headliner Awards “Texas Standard” has earned. The two-year old show won two National Headliner Awards last year for work done in 2015. See the complete list of 2017 winners.

About “Texas Standard”
“Texas Standard” sets the bar for broadcast news coverage, offering crisp, expansive coverage of politics, lifestyle and culture, the environment, technology and innovation, and business and the economy — from a distinctly Texas perspective. Hosted by award-winning journalist David Brown, the hour-long daily news magazine is grounded in the best traditions of American journalism: fact-based, independent and politically neutral reporting.

“Texas Standard,” which airs in 28 markets across Texas, is a project of KUT Austin, KERA North Texas, Houston Public Media, and San Antonio’s Texas Public Radio, in collaboration with news organizations across Texas.

About the National Headliner Awards
Founded in 1934 by the Press Club of Atlantic City, the National Headliner Awards program is one of the oldest and largest annual contests recognizing journalistic merit in the communications industry.

The first National Headliner Awards were presented in 1935. Since then, more than 2,000 Headliner medallions have been presented to outstanding writers, photographers, daily newspapers, magazines, graphic artists, radio and television stations and networks, and news syndicates.


Contact: Erin Geisler (512) 475-8071

Related Content