Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Election Results: San Antonio Mayoral Race Leads to Runoff, Georgetown Approves Transportation Bond

KUT News

Elections were held this weekend in a number of cities and school districts in the Austin area, but not in Austin itself. In the Eanes Independent School District, there was a $52.5 million bond proposition, approved by 65% of the votes. Eanes ISD says the bond package addresses capital improvements, replaces buses, improves technology and returns land to campuses by moving district functions into a District Operations Center.

Eanes Independent School District Board of Trustees, Spot 4, Julia Webber defeated Jay Howard; in Spot 5, Laurie Maccini fell to Jennifer Salas.

In Cedar Park, seven ballot propositions all were approved.

In Leander, Chris Fielder wins the race for mayor; Michelle Stephenson, Ron Abruzzese, Troy Hill and Shana Shepherd win the city council contests. In the Leander ISD Board of Trustee races, Trish Bode and Don Hisle are the victors.

Winning the races for Lago Vista City Council are Ron Smith in Place 4 and Rodney Cox in Place 6. Two other Lago Vista City Council races appear headed for runoffs.

West Lake Hills City Council race winners: Linda Anthony, Stan Graham and Jim O'Connor.

Rita G. Jonse wins the race for Mayor of Manor. Gene Kruppa and Rebecca Davies were unopposed in their bids for Manor City Council. Manor had 27 ballot propositions, all of which passed.

Georgetown transportation bond: $105 million to fund transportation projects in Georgetown over the next 10 years. Approved.

San Antonio Mayoral race: Former State Senator Leticia Van De Putte will face Ivy Taylor in a runoff election. Taylor was appointed mayor when Julian Castro became Secretary of Housing and Urban Development.