Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Travis County's Super Tuesday Races Not As Close As Expected

Miguel Gutierrez Jr. for KUT News
A queue of voters waiting outside an Austin Fiesta Mart in late afternoon Super Tuesday.

The Texas primary election on Super Tuesday—despite long lines, technical difficulties, and a strict voter ID requirement—brought 35% of Travis County registered voters out to the polls. And they weren't just voting in the Presidential primary; plenty of local primary races were decided Tuesday night. The County Clerk’s office has full reports for both Democratic and Republican Super Tuesday primaries on its website—which, after some difficulties throughout voting hours Tuesday, is seemingly back up and running. Here’s how the Travis County Clerk's office reports the final vote totals in some key races.  

Travis County District Attorney – Margaret Moore defeated both of her opponents—Rick Reed, who admitted Tuesday on Facebook that he himself was voting for Moore because it was “obvious” he couldn’t get enough votes to make it into a runoff, and current Travis County Prosecutor Gary Cobb—in the Democratic contest, pulling in 67,262 out of 113,130 votes counted, just under 60%. Moore will face off against Republican Maura Phelan, who ran unopposed.

Travis County Sheriff – Sally Hernandez overcame opponents Todd Radford, Don X. Rios, and John Sisson, and easily won the Democratic spot on the Sheriff ticket. Her commanding lead came as a bit of a surprise, as some had anticipated a runoff. Her win will take her to face unopposed Republican candidate Joe G. Martinez on the November ballot. Hernandez scored 58,815 out of 116,193 total votes counted, just about 50%.  

Travis County Commissioner Place 1 – Republican Pat McCord is running unopposed, while Jeff Travillion, Marc Hoskins, James Nortey, Arthur Sampson and Richard Franklin III battled it out for the Democratic nomination. Travillion got 9,940 out of total 23,853, 41.67%, but didn't clinch the spot without a true majority. He'll be up in a runoff against Sampson, who got about 18% of the vote this round.

Travis County Commissioner Place 3 – Current Commissioner Gerald Daugherty defeated Jason Nassour on the Republican side, bringing in 19,961 out of 28,093 votes. Daugherty will go up against David Holmes, who’s running unopposed on the Democratic side.

Texas House District 49 – Seven Democrats were battling for the progressive-leaning Austin district long held by outgoing state Rep. Elliott Naishtat: Aspen Dunaway, Kenton Johnson, Heather Way, Blake Rocap, Matthew Shrum, Huey Rey Fischer and the winner, recent Austin ISD school board president Gina Hinojosa. Hinojosa received 17,448 votes out of the total 30,624, nearly 57%.

Hear more from KUT's Audrey McGlinchy.

Texas House District 47 – Ana Jordan runs unopposed on the Democratic ticket, while incumbent Rep. Paul Workman squared off against Jay Wiley in the Republican primary. Wiley pulled off the victory with 15,340 out of 25,457 votes, about 60%.

Texas Senate District 24 – A crowded field of Republican candidates fought for the seat long held by state Sen. Troy Fraser. Dawn Buckingham, with 43.5% of the vote, defeated the other Republican candidates Jon Cobb, Brent Mayes, Susan King, Reed Williams, and Ryan Downton, with Virginia “Jennie Lou” Leeder running unopposed on the Democratic side.

U.S. House District 21 – Longtime Congressman Lamar Smith defeated challengers Matt McCall, Todd Phelps and John Murphy in the Republican primary, with 6,866 out of 12,616 votes, more than 50%. Tejas Vakil and Tom Wakely faced off in the Democratic primary. Wakely ended up taking the spot, with 14,652 out of 25,493, about 57%.

Related Content