Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Early Voting Starts Today to Fill Texas House District 17 Seat

Early voting starts on Dec. 29, 2014, for a state representative, District 17, special election.

Early voting starts today in several special elections, including one to fill a State House seat vacated by State Rep. Tim Kleinschmidt, R-Lexington.

Voters in Bastrop, Caldwell, Gonzales, Karnes and Lee Counties are casting a ballot once again. They’re choosing a new Texas House member to represent House District 17, a seat that opened up after Rep. Kleinschmidt resigned to work for the Texas Department of Agriculture.

Candidates vying for that seat include two Democrats, two Republicans and one Independent.

Voters in San Antonio will also be voting in this election for a new senator, after State Sen. Leticia Van de Putte, D-San Antonio, announced she’s leaving the Texas Senate to run for mayor of the Alamo City.

Early voting runs from today through Friday, although there will be no early voting on Thursday because of the New Year’s Day holiday.

Election Day is Tuesday, Jan. 6.

Related Content