Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Update: Bruce Todd to Replace Travis Co. Commissioner Eckhardt

Jillian Schantz Patrick for KUT News
Travis County Commissioner's Court

Update: Former Austin Mayor Bruce Todd is returning to the Travis County Commissioners Court.

County Judge Sam Biscoe has selected Todd to be interim Precinct 2 Commissioner, an office Todd held before he was elected Mayor of Austin in 1991. 

Todd is taking the place of Sarah Eckhardt, who’s leaving to run for County Judge. Biscoe is retiring from that office at the end of his term.

Original post (May 22): Travis County Commissioners Court Judge Sam Biscoe has announced that when his term was up, he's retiring.

News that the leader of the Commissioners Court was giving up the gavel has already drawn some 2014 hopefuls: current Precinct 2 Commissioner Sarah Eckhardt and Travis County Democratic Chair Andy Brown.

While both are gearing up for what could be a messy campaign, others have their eye on the lesser of the prizes: Eckhardt’s Precinct 2 spot. So far, 34 people have applied, and the mix has been predictable: Law students to activists to former mayors to more attorneys than you can shake a civil action suit at. They’re a litigious lot.

So, without further ado, here is the list of the 34 applicants for Travis County’s Precinct Two Commissioner:

  • Fidel Acevedo
  • Mike Agnew
  • James K Bailey
  • Jeb Boyt
  • Marc H Burns
  • Annetta Chase
  • Veronica L Chidester
  • Margot Clarke
  • Duncan Cormie
  • Logan J Duplechain
  • Fisayo Fadelu
  • Sarah B.Faust
  • Andrew E Gee
  • Wendy Gordon
  • James L Harbour
  • Gary A Janousek
  • Steven M Kotsatos
  • Sharmyn K Lilly
  • Jason Mcelvaney
  • Debra McIntire
  • Lisa L Minton
  • Shelly E Muncy
  • Howard B Olson
  • Stephanie Rios
  • Brigid Shea
  • Hoby R Smith
  • Karen Sonleitner
  • Tim E Sorrells
  • Phillip R.Tindall
  • Bruce M Todd
  • Richard A Viktorin
  • Tondelayo Wesley-Wayne
Related Content