Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Streaming troubles? We've made changes. Please click here on for more information.

Luck of the Draw: Watson, Campbell Among Senators Required to Run Again in 2014

Ben Philpott, KUT News

Legislative redistricting meant all Texas senators had to run for office in 2012. But since the Senate has staggered four-year terms, it had to pick about half of its members to run again two years from now.

Five senators now represent some part of Travis and Williamson counties. Troy Fraser, R-Horseshoe Bay, and Judith Zaffirini, D-Laredo, each got four-year terms. Kirk Watson, D-Austin, Charles Schwertner, R-Georgetown, and Donna Campbell, R-New Braunfels, got two-year terms.

Schwertner and Campbell were elected for the first time in November and must now defend their seats in 2014. But surprise winner Campbell says she’s not disappointed by her draw.

“As a matter of fact if there’s any time I’m going to do it, I’d rather do it right now," Campbell said. "I’ve got the energy, I still have the momentum. And that’s what I’m used to doing. So I’m all for it.”

Campbell could see an immediate challenge after her largely unexpected victory last year, while the well-funded Watson would be expected to win a fourth term if he decides to run again in 2014.

Ben Philpott is the Managing Editor for KUT. Got a tip? Email him at Follow him on Twitter @BenPhilpottKUT.
Related Content