Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

AM Update: SOS 20th Anniversary, Texas Women Inducted into Hall of Fame, UT Athletes at London Games

KUT News

Save Our Springs Ordinance Celebrates Twenty Years

20 years ago today, Austin voters approved a historic ordinance that changed the way the city handles growth.  The Save Our Springs water quality ordinance marked the first in a series of battles between environmentalists and developers.

A proposed development project by the international mining company Freeport McMoRan catalyzed a grassroots movement to protect the Edwards Aquifer and Barton Springs.

The Save Our Springs group gathered signatures and drafted an ordinance that limited construction along the Edwards Aquifer such that only 15 percent or less of the land could be paved.  The ordinance was put on the ballot and voters passed it.

But developers did not give up without a fight.  They lobbied the Texas Legislature, which passed legislation in the late 90's that gave developers who had already been involved in development prior to the ordinance greater latitude.

But over the years, the Austin City Council has still been able to negotiate construction and water quality on some projects to be done within SOS standards.

Five Women, Two From Austin Inducted Into Texas Women’s Hall of Fame

The Texas Governor's Commission for Women will induct five outstanding Texas women into the Texas Women's Hall of Fame.The designations honor women who have contributed to business, education, philanthropy, military ad public service.

Austinites Anne Lesley Corn and Justice Harriet O’Neill are among those selected, along with Barbara Smith Conrad, Nina Godiwalla, and Major General (ret.) Mary Saunders.

Corn is being honored for her philanthropic work with the blind and visually impaired. O’Neill, a retired Texas Supreme Court Justice, is being honored for her public service.

Governor Perry congratulated the women: "By recognizing these exceptional women, we are also inspiring young Texans to work hard and become the great leaders of tomorrow," says Perry.

The Texas Women’s Hall of Fame was established in 1984. More than 100 women have been inducted, including former first ladies, astronauts, and athletes.Women are selected every two years by an independent panel from a pool of peer nominees. The women will be honored at an induction ceremony in October, at the Texas Women’s University in Denton.

More Olympic Hardware for Former Longhorns

Leo Manzano tweeted “Silver medal, still felt like I won!” after finishing second in the 1500m Men’s final yesterday. Manzano finished with a time of 3:34.79 in the race known as the “metric mile.”

Four-time Olympian and Texas ex Troy Dumais finished just off the podium in the Men’s 3m Springboard final. He came in fifth place. Dumais earned his first Olympic medal earlier in London – a bronze with his synchronized partner.

Coming up today, former Longhorn Trey Hardee competes in the first five events of the Men’s Decathlon. Sanya Richards-Ross earned gold in the Women’s 400m final. She’ll try to add to her collection in today’s 200m race.

Kevin Durant and the U.S. Men’s Basketball team take on Australia in the quarterfinals.

Texas Standard reporter Joy Diaz has amassed a lengthy and highly recognized body of work in public media reporting. Prior to joining Texas Standard, Joy was a reporter with Austin NPR station KUT on and off since 2005. There, she covered city news and politics, education, healthcare and immigration.
Laura first joined the KUT team in April 2012. She now works for the statewide program Texas Standard as a reporter and producer. Laura came to KUT from the world of television news. She has worn many different hats as an anchor, reporter and producer at TV stations in Austin, Amarillo and Toledo, OH. Laura is a proud graduate of the University of Missouri-Columbia, a triathlete and enjoys travel, film and a good beer. She enjoys spending time with her husband and pets.
Related Content