Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Here's Everything You Need To Know To Vote In The Central Texas Spring Elections

Ilana Panich-Linsman for KUT

Today is the first day of early voting for the May 6 election. Here’s everything you need to know for races all across Central Texas.

But, before we get into the breakdown of what’s on the ballot, here are the early and Election Day voting locations for Travis and surrounding counties:

You can find Travis County polling locations in the map below.

Cedar Park

In Cedar Park, Stephen Thomas is running unopposed for Place 1 on the Cedar Park City Council. Incumbent Council Member Lyle Grimes and Anne Duffy are battling for the Place 3 seat and incumbent Council Member Jon Lux and Heather R. Jefts are vying for Place 5’s seat. You can find sample ballots and early voting and Election Day polling locations here.

Round Rock

Big-ticket items in the May election for Round Rock include the race for mayor between Hilda Montgomery, Craig Morgan and Josh Couture – as well as races for Places 1 and 4 on the Round Rock City Council. Voters will also decide whether to approve a $572 million bond package for Round Rock ISD schools, in addition to four city charter amendment propositions.


Lakeway voters will decide on a $23 million bond proposition to construct a new police facility and a special election on a quarter of a percent raise in the sales tax to fund road improvement projects. Lakeway voters will also elect two members to the Lakeway City Council, with Tiffany McMillan, Ron Massa and Bridge Bertram all vying for the vacant seats.

You can find early voting and Election Day polling locations for Lakeway here.


Rob Reyes is running unopposed for the Place 7 seat on the Pflugerville ISD school board. Jacob E. Betz, Tony Hanson and Charlie Torres are running for the Place 2 seat; Larry D. Bradley, Matt Robertson and Cliff Styles are running for Place 6.

West Lake Hills

West Lake voters will choose between Ambrose Krumpe and Beth South in the race to fill the West Lake City Council Place 3 vacancy – the only contested race on the ballot. Rhonda Puls McCollough and Jim O’Connor are running uncontested for the Place 1 and Place 5 seats, respectively.

You can find more information about the election here.

Bee Cave

Bee Cave voters will decide on a proposition to reauthorize its sales tax rate to fund road improvement projects and will elect three members to the Bee Cave City Council. Marie Lowman, Kara King, David K. Busch, Scott Cronk and Monty Parker are all running for the vacant council seats.

Find more information about the election here.

Travis County Emergency Service Districts

West Lake voters will decide on whether to adopt a 1.5 percent sales tax rate for Emergency Service District 9.  Residents of Emergency Service District 14 in Volente will vote on whether to raise the district’s sales tax from 1 to 2 percent. Southeast Travis County voters will decide whether to create a Emergency Service District 15, which would impose a tax of 10-cents-per-$100-valuation.

Hays County Elections

San Marcos voters will decide on a $107 million bond proposition that aims to address overcrowding in the San Marcos Consolidated Independent School District. Voters will also decide the fate of two city bond propositions – one for $17 million to address police and fire department-related funding, and another $14 million bond for a city library. You can find a sample ballot here. Find early voting and Election Day polling locations here.

Hays voters will weigh two bond propositions for the Hays Consolidated Independent School District – one nearly $190 million proposition for new school buildings and another $60 million proposition to revamp existing facilities. Voters will also elect two Hays CISD board trustees. You can view a sample ballot here. Find early voting and Election Day poll locations here.

Wimberley residents will vote on Wimberley City Council seats for Place 1 and Place 3. Steve Thurber and Sally Trapp are vying for Place 1, while Larry Catt and Allison Davis are running for Place 3. John White is running unopposed in Place 5. You can view that sample ballot here. Find early voting and Election Day polling locations here.

Dripping Springs voters will choose three new City Council members, as well as two new school board trustees. You can check out a sample ballot here. Find early voting and Election Day polling locations here.

Bastrop County

Bastrop voters will choose a new mayor in a race between Bastrop City Council Member Willie DeLaRosa and Connie Schroeder. Voters will also choose who will fill the seats in Place 3 and 4 on the council.

Voters will also decide who will fill Places 3 and 4 on the Bastrop Independent School District Board of Trustees.

Smithville voters will choose three City Council members, as well as Smithville ISD trustees for Places 1 and 2.

In Elgin, Byron Mitchell is running unopposed for the Elgin ISD trustee seat for District 1, and Geno Chavarria and Jim McMillan are running for the District 2 seat.

You can find Bastrop County polling places and sample ballots here.

Andrew Weber is a general assignment reporter for KUT, focusing on criminal justice, policing, courts and homelessness in Austin and Travis County. Got a tip? You can email him at Follow him on Twitter @England_Weber.