Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Williamson County: 2024 Primary Elections Voter Guide

Signs that say "Vote Here" are in front of a building in Williamson County.
Julia Reihs
KUT News
Election Day is Tuesday, March 5.

Lee esta historia en español

It's primary season in Texas. Republicans and Democrats across the state will decide who their party's nominee will be in the November general election. Election Day is Tuesday, March 5. Runoff elections can take place between the top candidates if no one reaches more than 50% of the vote.

(Not a Williamson County resident? Check out our Travis County voter guide or our Hays County voter guide for those races.)

Williamson County voting centers are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Election Day. Check the county's website for locations.

Wondering about how to check your voter registration or what you need to bring with you to the polls? Check out our voting Q&A.

See what’s on your party’s ballot in Williamson County:

Democrat and Republican comprehensive sample ballot

* Indicates incumbent


U.S. Senate: Texas has two seats in the U.S. Senate, the upper chamber of Congress. The Senate has 100 members, two from each state, who are elected for six-year terms. Sen. Ted Cruz is up for reelection this year. While there are several Democratic candidates running for his seat, state Sen. Roland Gutierrez, D-San Antonio, and Congressman Colin Allred, D-Dallas, are current frontrunners for voters, according to recent polling from the Texas Politics Project. For more details, check out The Texas Newsroom's interview with both candidates.

U.S. House of Representatives: Texas has 38 seats in the U.S. House of Representatives, the lower chamber of Congress. The total number of representatives is set at 435. Representatives are elected for two-year terms.

District 10 stretches from the northwestern portion of the Greater Houston region to the Greater Austin region.

District 17 includes a strip of Central Texas and Deep East Texas stretching from Nacogdoches to Waco and Round Rock.

District 31 includes most of Williamson County, including much of Cedar Park and Leander, and then extends north through another five counties. U.S. Rep. John Carter has held the seat since 2003.

District 37 includes most of the city of Austin and a small portion of Williamson County.


Railroad commissioner: Don’t let the name fool you; Texas’ railroad commissioner doesn’t have anything to do with railroads. The three-member commission oversees the state’s oil and gas industries. One commissioner position is on the ballot every two years.

Texas Supreme Court: The Texas Supreme Court has nine justices. Three seats are up for election in 2024. Currently, all seats are held by Republicans.

Supreme Court Justice, Place 2

Supreme Court Justice, Place 4

Supreme Court Justice, Place 6

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals: The Texas Court of Criminal Appeals is the state’s highest court for criminal cases. The Court consists of nine judges. They are elected for six-year terms. Currently, all seats are held by Republicans.

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Presiding Judge

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Place 7 Judge

Texas Court of Criminal Appeals Place 8 Judge

State Board of Education: Members of the State Board of Education are responsible for setting Texas public school curriculum and graduation requirements, along with overseeing Texas’ Permanent School Fund. The 15 board members represent different districts across the state.

State Board of Education, District 10

Texas Legislature

Texas House of Representatives: The Texas House of Representatives is the lower chamber of the Texas Legislature, consisting of 150 members elected from single-member districts for two-year terms. Along with the state Senate, the House drafts and passes state laws, policies and budgets. The Legislature meets for 140 days during odd-numbered years, though the governor can call special sessions outside that time frame as he did during 2023. There are no term limits.

District 20 encompasses most of Georgetown and includes Leander, Liberty Hill, Florence and Jarrell.

    District 52 spans Round Rock, Hutto, Taylor, Thrall, Weir and a small part of Georgetown.

      District 136 covers western Williamson County, including parts of Northwest Austin, Cedar Park, Round Rock and the Brushy Creek area.


      Texas Third Court of Appeals: The Third Court of Appeals is composed of six justices who serve the Austin area. It has intermediate appellate jurisdiction of both civil and criminal cases appealed from lower courts in 24 counties of Texas.

      Third Court of Appeals District Place 2 Justice

      Third Court of Appeals District Place 3 Justice

      Third Court of Appeals District Place 5 Justice

      Third Court of Appeals District Place 6 Justice

      District court: District courts have county-wide geographical jurisdiction, and the district judges are elected countywide to four-year terms. District courts are trial courts of general subject-matter jurisdiction. They hear felony criminal prosecutions, suits for divorce, election contests, juvenile cases, and civil suits with an amount in controversy of at least $200 with no ceiling.

      26th Judicial District:

      395th Judicial District:

      425th Judicial District:

      480th Judicial District:

      Williamson County criminal district attorney: The responsibilities of the district attorney include prosecuting felony crimes and assisting law enforcement with investigations.

      County courts: County courts oversee cases involving adult criminal misdemeanors, juvenile offenders, guardianship and mental health.

      Judge, County Court-at-Law #5

      • DEMOCRATS: None
      • REPUBLICANS: Will Ward

      County Attorney

      • DEMOCRATS: Amy Lyn Lefkowitz
      • REPUBLICANS: Dee Hobbs*

      Sheriff: The sheriff is an elected law enforcement officer who apprehends fugitives, runs the county jail and leads a team of sheriff’s deputies and other law enforcement personnel.

      Tax assessor-collector: The tax assessor-collector calculates property tax rates and collects taxes for the county.

      • DEMOCRATS: None
      • REPUBLICANS: Larry Gaddes*

      Williamson County commissioners: County commissioners draft and pass policies for the county, much like city council members do for a city. There are four county commissioners in Williamson County, plus the county judge, who is elected countywide.

      Precinct 1

      • DEMOCRATS: Terry Cook*
      • REPUBLICANS: None

      Precinct 3

      Williamson County constables: Constables are an elected law enforcement officer for a precinct of a county.

      Precinct 1

      Precinct 2

      Precinct 3

      Precinct 4


      Kailey Hunt is KUT's Williamson County reporter. Got a tip? Email her at Follow her on Twitter @KaileyEHunt.
      Related Content