Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Here's Who's Running for Austin Mayor and City Council

Bryan Winter/KUT News
Construction crews renovate the inside of the Austin City Council Chambers earlier this year, to make room for a larger council.

Nearly two years after Austinites passed the 10-1 plan – which allows voters to elect city council members from their respective geographic district while the mayor is still elected by all voters – the plan has arrived at its penultimate step: The ballot is set. 

In total, 78 candidates submitted their names for voter approval ahead of the city and county elections in November. The ballot features some familiar faces, with current council members Chris Riley and Kathie Tovo pitted against each other in District 9 as well as a Sheryl Cole vs. Mike Martinez match up in the at-large race for mayor. 

Below you can find a full list of the candidates on the ballot listed by filing date:

Mayoral Candidates


Mike Martinez

Ronald J. “Ron” Culver

Stephen Adler

Randall F. Stephens

Todd H. Phelps

David M. Orshalick

Sheryl Cole

Mary C. Krenek

District 1

Samuel A. Osemene

Ora Houston

Andrew J. Bucknall

DeWayne W. Lofton

Valerie M. Menard

Michael D. Cargill

Norman A. Jacobson

George W. Hindman

Christopher J. Hutchins

District 2

Delia Garza

Mike Owen

Edward A. “Wally” Reyes, Jr.

John C. Sheppard

District 3

Susana R. Almanza

Sabino “Pio” Renteria

Mario G. Cantu

Ricardo Turullols-Bonilla

Fred McGhee

Julian Limon Fernandez

Shaun D. Ireland

Jose Quintero

Eric J. Rangel

Jose A. Valera

Christopher L. “Chris” Hoerster

Kent K. Phillips

District 4

Laura Pressley

Roberto Perez, Jr.

Sharon E. Mays

Gregorio E. “Greg” Casar

Katrina M. Daniel

Monica A. Guzman

Louis C. Herrin III

Marco Mancillas

District 5

Luis M. “Mike” Rodriguez

David C. Senecal

Ann Kitchen

Daniel Buda

Jason R. Denny

William David “Dave” Floyd

Carol Anne Rose Kennedy

District 6

James T. “Jimmy” Flannigan

Mackenzie Kelly

Jay Wiley

Donald S. “Don” Zimmerman

Matthew D. “Matt” Stillwell

Lloyd “Pete” Phillips, Jr.

District 7

Melissa A. Zone

Jefferson E. “Jeb” Boyt

James A. “Jimmy” Paver

Edwin E. “Ed” English

Leslie Pool

Pete A. Salazar, Jr.

Zachary R. “Zack” Ingraham

Darryl R. Wittle

District 8 

Rebecca A. “Becky” Bray

Eliza May

Darrell Pierce

Edward S. Scruggs

Ellen Troxclair

District 9

Kathryne Beth “Kathie” Tovo

Christopher J. “Chris” Riley

Erin K. McGann

District 10

Sheri P. Gallo

Marjorie “Margie” Burciaga

Matthew L. “Matt” Lamon

Amanda “Mandy” Dealey

Audrey “Tina” Cannon

Robert D. Thomas

Jason W. Meeker

William L. “Bill” Worsham

You can find more about the candidates a

Andrew Weber is a general assignment reporter for KUT, focusing on criminal justice, policing, courts and homelessness in Austin and Travis County. Got a tip? You can email him at Follow him on Twitter @England_Weber.
Related Content