Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

2020 Primary Election Results: U.S. Senate And House Races In Central Texas

MJ Hegar speaks to supporters at the Riveter during an election watch party Tuesday. Unofficial results showed her leading the Democratic primary.
Michael Minasi
MJ Hegar speaks to supporters at the Riveter during an election watch party Tuesday. Hegar picked up the most votes in the Democratic primary.

The U.S. Senate race in Texas is being closely watched after Democrat Beto O’Rourke’s near victory over Ted Cruz in 2018. The close race led many to believe the state, which hasn’t had a Democratic U.S. senator since 1993, could actually elect one.

U.S. Sen. John Cornyn attended the GOP watch party in Austin on Super Tuesday.
Credit Julia Reihs / KUT
U.S. Sen. John Cornyn attended the GOP watch party in Austin on Super Tuesday.

Republican John Cornyn is running for a fourth term. Four candidates ran against him in the primary, but he was projected as the winner shortly after the polls closed.  

"As we move to the general election, we will cede no vote in any region of our state," Cornyn told supporters in Austin. "Like I've done in the Senate, I'll reach out across the aisle, welcoming Texans caught in the Democrat Party's civil war. We'll ask them to join our efforts and I bet many of them will." 

But MJ Hegar, one of 12 Democrats vying to challenge him in November, said she had a message for him.

"Your time is done, because you’ve sold us out," she told supporters at an election watch party Tuesday. "We’ve given you plenty of time, and it’s over. You’re fired. Pack it up buttercup, because I’m coming for your seat.”

The former Air Force pilot from Cedar Park led the Democratic primary with 22% of the vote. She will face  Dallas state Sen. Royce West in a runoff May 26. Progressive organizer Cristina Tzintzun Ramirez conceded the race Wednesday afternoon.

Hegar mounted a serious challenge to U.S. Rep. John Carter in 2018, losing the congressional seat in Williamson and Bell counties by less than 3 percentage points. 

U.S. Senate | Congressional District 10 | Congressional District 17 | Congressional District 21 | Congressional District 25 | Congressional District 31 | Congressional District 35

In the lower chamber, there are a few key races in Central Texas districts. 

Voters in the 17th Congressional District will select a new representative with the retirement of Republican Bill Flores. Twelve Republicans and three Democrats are vying for their party nominations. Unofficial results showed Rick Kennedy in the lead on the Democratic side, and Pete Sessions ahead among Republicans.

The 31st Congressional District covers most of Williamson and Bell counties. Incumbent John Carter, who was challenged by three other Republicans, was the projected winner. Incumbent Roger Williams was the projected winner in the Republican primary for the 25th District. Democrat Julie Oliver won the race for her party's nomination for the district.

Incumbent Lloyd Doggett won the Democratic primary for his 35th District seat. He will face the winner of a runoff between Jenny Garcia Sharon and "Guillermo" William Hayward. 

RELATEDPolitical Reporting Needs Work. Help Us Set The Agenda For Our Reporting On the 2020 Election.

U.S. Senate

Background: Each state elects two people to represent them in the U.S. Senate. Senators serve six-year terms. 

District 10

Background: The district covers parts of Northern and East Austin, including Manor, and stretches to areas of Bastrop and all the way to northwestern parts of Houston. 

Republican incumbent Michael McCaul has held the seat since 2005 and is running for re-election. Three Democrats are vying to challenge him in November.

District 17

Background: The district stretches from Central Austin to Waco and College Station.

Republican U.S. Rep. Bill Flores currently holds the seat, but he announced last year he is not seeking another term. Twelve Republicans and three Democrats are vying for a spot on the November ballot.

District 21

Background: The 21st Congressional District runs from Southwest Austin to San Marcos and New Braunfels to northern parts of San Antonio. The district includes the Hill Country, including Boerne, Johnson City and Fredericksburg.

Republican incumbent Chip Roy was elected in 2018. He is running unopposed for the Republican nomination. Two Democrats are running to challenge him in the fall, including former gubernatorial candidate Wendy Davis. 

District 25

Background: The 25th  Congressional District encompasses all or parts of 13 counties. It includes a sliver of Tarrant County and runs all the way down the western halves of Travis and Hays counties.

Republican incumbent Roger Williams was formerly Texas Secretary of State. He has served four terms since first being elected in 2012. One Republican is running against him in the primary, and two Democrats are seeking the Democratic nomination.

District 31

Background: The district includes Williamson County and most of Bell County. 

Republican incumbent John Carter has held the seat since he was elected in 2002. He is running for his 10th term. Three Republicans are running against him in the primaries, and six Democrats are vying for the Democratic nomination. 

District 35

Background: The 35th Congressional District includes parts of six counties. It runs from Eastern Travis County to Eastern Bexar County. 

Democratic incumbent Lloyd Doggett was first elected to Congress in 1994 and is seeking his 14th term. Because of redistricting, he’s been moved around to three different districts, the 10th, 25th and 35th. He faces one Democratic opponent, and three Republicans are vying for the chance to challenge the Democratic nominee in November.

Find other election results here:

Related Content