Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations
Streaming troubles? We've made changes. Please click here on for more information.

Hays County: 2022 Primary Elections Results

Julia Reihs

Lee esta historia en español.

Voting results are in for the primaries in Hays County.

Incumbent Ruben Becerra will be the Democratic candidate for county judge. He beat his opponent Brandon Burleson by earning almost 70% of the votes.

Of the Democrats vying for the county commissioner seat left open by Mark Jones, who is the sole Republican in the running for county judge, two will head to a runoff election. Linda Aguilar Hawkins garnered around 37% of the votes, while Michelle Gutierrez Cohen got around 41%.

Republican incumbent Walt Smith surpassed his opponent Joe Bateman for the the county commissioner seat representing Precinct 4.

See the full results below.

* Indicates incumbent

County judge

Democrat: Brandon Burleson (31.88%), Ruben Becerra* (68.12%) 
Republican: Mark Jones (100%)

Hays County commissioners

Precinct 2 includes parts of eastern Buda and extends down to Kyle.

Democrat: Richard "Pepe" Cronshey (21.94%), Linda Aguilar Hawkins (36.96%), Michelle Gutierrez Cohen (41.10%)
Republican: Mike Gonzalez (61.04%), Andy Hentschke (38.96%)

Precinct 4 extends west from Buda through the topmost half of the county.

Democrat: None
Republican: Walt Smith* (56.18%), Joe Bateman (43.82%)

County clerk

Democrat: Edna R. Peterson (26.03%), Elaine Cárdenas* (73.97%)
Republican: Linda Duran (100%)

County treasurer

Democrat: Daphne Sanchez Tenorio (100%)
Republican: Britney Bolton Richey* (100%)

County courts at law

Judge, No. 1

Democrat: Jimmy Alan Hall (100%)
Republican: Robert Updegrove* (100%)

Judge, No. 2

Democrat: Paul Hill (100%)
Republican: Chris Johnson* (100%)

Judge, No. 3

Democrat: Elaine S. Brown (100%)
Republican: Dan O'Brien* (100%)

District judges

207th Judicial District

Democrat: None 
Republican: Mark E. Cusack (40.12%), Tracie Wright-Reneau (24.91%), Charmaine Wilde (16.43%), George Carroll (18.54%)

274th Judicial District

Democrat: None
Republican: Gary L. Steel* (100%)

428th Judicial District

Democrat: Joe Pool (100%)
Republican: Bill Henry* (100%)

District clerk

Democrat: Avery Anderson (100%)
Republican: Beverly Crumley* (100%)

Hays County criminal district attorney

Democrat: Kelly Higgins (100%)
Republican: David Puryear (100%)

Justices of the peace

Precinct 1, Place 2

Democrat: Maggie Hernandez Moreno* (100%)
Republican: None

Precinct 2

Democrat: Beth Smith* (64.71%), Amaya Cuellar (35.29%)
Republican: None 

Precinct 3

Democrat: None
Republican: Andrew Cable* (100%)

Precinct 4

Democrat: None 
Republican: John Burns* (100%)

Precinct 5

Democrat: Sandra Bryant (100%)
Republican: Karen Marshall (62.47%), Terry Strawn (37.53%)

Riane Roldan is the Hays County reporter for KUT, focusing on the costs and benefits of suburban growth. Got a tip? Email her at Follow her on Twitter @RianeRoldan.
Related Content