Reliably Austin
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Statewide Races: 2022 Primary Elections Results

Gabriel C. Pérez

See the results for the statewide primary elections as they come in below.

Note: A runoff election will take place in races where no candidate earns more than 50% of the votes.


READ MORE: Texas Gov. Abbott and Beto O'Rourke are set for an election clash after primary wins

Lieutenant governor

Attorney general

The results below were posted by the Texas Secretary of State's office at 7:03 a.m. Wednesday, when about 95% of polling locations in the state were reporting results.

Comptroller of public accounts

Republican: Mark V. Goloby (18.36%), Glenn Hegar* (81.64%)
Democrat: Janet T. Dudding (45.88%), Tim Mahoney (19.18%), Angel Luis Vega (34.94%) — going to a runoff

Commissioner of the general land office

Republican: Ben Armenta (2.91%), Victor Avila (7.44%), Dawn Buckingham (41.99%), Rufus Lopez (3.03%), Weston Martinez (6.56%), Don W. Minton (10.53%), Jon Spiers (12.71%), Tim Westley (14.83%) — going to a runoff
Democrat: Jay Kleberg (25.92%), Michael Lange (20.12%), Sandragrace Martinez (32.13%), Jinny Suh (21.83%) — going to a runoff

Commissioner of agriculture

Republican: Carey A. Counsil (10.4%), Sid Miller* (58.53%), James White (31.07%)
Democrat: Susan Hays (82.67%), Ed Ireson (17.55%)

Railroad commissioner

Republican: Wayne Christian* (47.15%), Tom Slocum Jr. (14.33%), Sarah Stogner (15.16%), Marvin “Sarge” Summers (deceased) (11.9%), Dawayne Tipton (11.47%) — appears to be headed to a runoff
Democrat: Luke Warford (100%)

Texas Supreme Court

Justice, Place 3:

Republican: Debra Lehrmann* (100%)
Democrat: Erin A Nowell (100%)

Justice, Place 5:

Republican: Rebeca Huddle* (100%)
Democrat: Amanda Reichek (100%)

Justice, Place 9:

Republican: David J. Schenck (45.24%), Evan Young* (54.76%)
Democrat: Julia Maldonado (100%)

Court of Criminal Appeals

Place 2 Judge:

Republican: Mary Lou Keel* (100%)
Democrat: None

Place 5 Judge:

Republican: Clint Morgan (43.12%), Scott Walker* (56.88%)
Democrat: Dana Huffman (100%)

Place 6 Judge:

Republican: Jesse F. McClure III* (100%)
Democrat: Robert Johnson (100%)

State Board of Education

District 5:

Republican: Mark Loewe (53.45%), Robert Morrow (46.55%)
Democrat: Rebecca Bell-Metereau* (73.68%), Kevin Guico (6.49%), Juan Juárez (19.84%)

District 10:

Republican: Tom Maynard* (100%)
Democrat: None

Related Content